More than 13,000 take part in the C2S Virtual Run

21 October 2020
More than 13,000 take part in the C2S Virtual Run

The first ever The Sun-Herald City2Surf Virtual Run has seen more than 13,000 people run 14km in their own neighbourhoods across the weekend.

The City2Surf Virtual Run celebrated the 50th running of the iconic Sydney event, with participants from across Sydney and around the world taking part.

Raising much needed funds for charity has always been a major part of the City2Surf, with more than $600,000 already donated this year.

The event kicked off at 6am on Friday, with the first finisher Sinclair Durbin beginning his run as the event opened, and recording a time of 59:18, while the final official finisher was Cara Varian who finished her 14km course at 5:59:27pm.

The fastest time for the weekend was recorded by Ed Goddard with a 41:22, and while the time won’t be counted as an official City2Surf win it will give Goddard the title of the first ever City2Surf Virtual Run champion.

Dave Beeche, Managing Director of The IRONMAN Group Oceania, organisers of the City2Surf, congratulated everyone who took part in the first ever City2Surf Virtual Run.

“It was great to see so many people out and about across the weekend embracing the first City2Surf Virtual Run,” said Beeche. “While we would have loved to have seen everybody running the course between the city and Bondi the Virtual Run provided a great opportunity to celebrate this iconic community event.

“The City2Surf Virtual Run has showed the reach of this event, with participants from not only Sydney but across Australia and around the world taking part and tackling a 14km course in their own neighbourhood,” he said. “We hope to be able to welcome everyone back to the traditional event in 2021.”

Every state and territory in Australia was represented in the City2Surf Virtual Run, along with 23 other countries. Great Britain had the most runners outside of Australia, with one runner each from Austria, Bermuda, Denmark, Indonesia, Israel, India, Korea and Uruguay.